Author Topic: I just can't do stealth properly  (Read 1837 times)

MaxDucks

• Noob
    • View Profile
I just can't do stealth properly
« on: September 10, 2019, 11:24:21 pm »
I'm not blaming the game for this. I'm a total noob. Frankly, the fact that you can only see stuff in your direct line of sight makes sense. It's just that as soon as I turn the corner in the stealth tutorial, the camera instantly spots me. And then when I go behind a corner to get out of the camera's line of sight, the drone immediately follows me and finds me. Again, I'm not blaming the game here. I'm just afraid that it'll make my gameplay experience extremely frustrating if stealth is going to be a requirement. Does anyone have any tips or a general explaination of how I can do stealth properly?

TheAverageGortsby

• Faceless
    • View Profile
Re: I just can't do stealth properly
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2019, 04:13:31 am »
Well, stealth is never a requirement. You can absolutely stomp around the entire game shouting and banging the walls.  You'll have to fight more, and occasionally in less ideal situations, if you're never sneaky at all.  But you can absolutely just murderhobo through the game.

If you do want to do stealth, there are a few things to consider.  Some stuff has true sight, or machine sight - cameras, robots, and maybe one or two other special things, too.  This true/machine sight means that your stealth is useless.  You have to keep your distance so they don't notice you, or keep using LOS breaks like corridor turns.  Hiding in vents and behind closed doors is good juju, too.  Sometimes, you'll need to take out a mechanical enemy really quickly (notice how low the health is on those cameras?) then run to a good out-of-the-way place and hide until all the enemies come check out the poor exploded camera than get bored and go back to their patrols/loiter locations.  Then you can sneak by the living enemies.