Author Topic: Noob questions: Building an "Inventor"/"Engineer"  (Read 4208 times)

Sillyweasel

• Probably not a Spambot
    • View Profile
Noob questions: Building an "Inventor"/"Engineer"
« on: June 10, 2020, 09:13:36 pm »
Hello people! I'm quite new to this game/forum (although I've had my good share of turn based RPGs) and I'd like to ask a few questions regarding the building and the gameplay of an "inventor". To make myself clear, I've been meaning to play the kind of character which focuses on crafting skills and who gets ahead by having a steady supply of consumables and being able to turn almost all the junk it finds into something useful.
So now my questions are:
-Would such a build be viable?
-On a scale from 1 to 10  how hard would playing such a build be? (1 being left click to win and 10 being extremely tedious and requiring a good bit o luck just to get through)
-How would you build such a character?
-what are some of the most important materials I should be gathering?

TheAverageGortsby

• Faceless
    • View Profile
Re: Noob questions: Building an "Inventor"/"Engineer"
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2020, 12:32:42 am »
I've played two of those to compare side by side.  Both were 16 INT builds (because obviously I wasn't trying to make things easy for myself) and both played fine on DOMINATING.  The first one was a metal armor stealth sledgehammer build (with Body Weight Training and Nimble coupled with specialized Armor Sloping so I could stealth while wearing Super Steel armor) and the other was a 3 Will 4x70 "full psi" build.  So, to answer your questions:
1&2) Perfectly viable, though what you start with for combat options will make or break your build.  I'd roll it as either a high Will, high Int psi character (1), a low Will psi character (3) or a moderate Perception tin can AR (4 early, 2 later) or  High Technicalities Versatility energy pistol user (6 early on, 3 later).