Author Topic: Please help! Build: SMG [Hard]  (Read 2280 times)

Mas49

• Noob
    • View Profile
Please help! Build: SMG [Hard]
« on: July 24, 2020, 11:14:08 pm »
Hey everyone,

I'm relatively new to the game, and as such, I mostly use builds from YT. After a run with the "Psion" build on Underrail standalone, I bought Expedition and felt like trying out guns for the first time. As I also wanted to use the stealth mechanics (at least for a bit), and go full auto on those pesky NPCs, I looked for a suitable build on YT. I settled for Nerd Commando's "Spec Ops" (link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_a08dZB_7E). I know it was meant for Underrail before Expedition came out, but I didn't think the meta would have changed THAT much since the dlc.

Obviously, I must have been wrong, because I struggled a lot since the start of the game, especially against armorred enemies such as Psi beetles (in Hard mode you get the adult ones pretty early on). I'm now stuck at the end of the GMS compound mission, as I cannot win the fight against the raiders holding the hostages at the lowest level, even using flashbangs/molotovs/caltrops and food buffs. And that is not for lack of trying, I tried everything from hit and run with the "sprint" and "suppressive fire" abilities, to flash "spam", tried luring them to the autoturret... But I must come to the conclusion that my build is not good enough for hard difficulty.

I did stray a bit away from Nerd Commando's recommandations: I picked points in Mercantile to get cheaper ammo, a few in traps and throwing for flexibility, and finally I did get psionic empathy as I kept reading that temporal manipulation would increase my AP eventually, which is usefull for such a glass canon build. Can you either help me "fix" this, or do you have an altogether better build for SMGs in hard difficulty?

Here's the build as it stands now in my savegame: https://underrail.info/build/?BQMJBgMLAwYjCgAACgUjIx4ADxkACgAZAAAACgAAIys5OyRZ378

TheAverageGortsby