Author Topic: Is spending on STR stat enough to wield AR stupid for SMG build?  (Read 2192 times)

mallardisfruit

• Noob
    • View Profile
Hello, I'm just a newbie who just cleared depot A and reached just reached level 11 on normal.

I was using SMG build I found on reddit(https://www.reddit.com/r/underrail/comments/crcd8l/my_smg_guide_for_beginners_needs_expedition_dlc/), which was cool and felt awesome to go full-auto and rip acid dogs and mutants into swiss cheese, but now I want guns with better punch like shotgun and AR.

I searched for viable AR/SMG build with high mobility (low armor penalty) after spending 1 stat on STR (now 4), but most of the answers were 'you either go full or none at all' so I'm now wondering should I keep building my character toward 6 STR, or build a new character.

So my question is: Is 6 STR on smg build stupid choice? Or should I just make a new character for Shotgun/AR build? If so, can you recommend me one?

l0cus77

• Probably not a Spambot
    • View Profile
Re: Is spending on STR stat enough to wield AR stupid for SMG build?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2020, 09:33:47 pm »
Well strength on SMG is only advised for full auto at 7. You could still get it if keep putting points there every 4 lvls until 24 (if you did not waste too many before) but it is going to take longer.

Full auto is still really recommended for AR, not so mandatory for shotgun build. You can perfectly keep the build, at 5 Str you unlock shottys and at 6 AR, 7 for more options. You can meet the wield requirements with food also, (+1 str) but you need the hard stat for the feat.

That way you can try more weapons if it is your first run, and decide later if you want to do a second run. Specially on normal since you do not need such an optimised char.

Or you can reroll now if you prefer, I'd you already passed depot A you won't have too much trouble doing it. A second time.

harperfan7

• Oculite
  • Godman
    • View Profile