Author Topic: First Time Player Help(Shotgun/Firearm Pistols)  (Read 5111 times)

Eisenhorn

• Probably not a Spambot
    • View Profile
First Time Player Help(Shotgun/Firearm Pistols)
« on: March 02, 2021, 08:51:34 am »
Hello Dwellers, I'm new to the game and am looking for a few pointers. I think I'd like to focus on shotguns and firearm pistols for my first build. With the recent changes to Psi, is it possible to sprinkle it into builds like you used too? If not, what skills should I focus on to experience the most content? I have Expedition as well. Thank you very much for your help.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2021, 10:08:38 am by Eisenhorn »

cypherusuh

• Tchortist
    • View Profile
Re: First Time Player Help(Shotgun/Firearm Pistols)
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2021, 12:11:41 am »
Imo shotgun and firearm doesn't mix that well. Both requires pretty substantial feats, and you generally pump DEX w/ versatility on firearm, and PER for Shotgun.

As for Psi, yeah, it's still possible to mix things up, but you can only pick 2 school max for non "pure psi" build. It's somewhat difficult because you usually can only put 8 INT max, so you're limited to 6 innervated skill between 2 school.
But for many build, picking TM is still viable, with a catch. It's recommended to have as close to 166 effective skill so you'll have soft-cap lowest chance of PTC whiplash, since that combined with Adrenaline will cripple you to death.

Eisenhorn

• Probably not a Spambot
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2021, 01:30:22 am »
I see. So what would you suggest as a secondary weapon for shotgun? Or should I use shotgun and Psi? Thanks for pointing out the shortcomings with the firearms.

cypherusuh

• Tchortist
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2021, 04:45:29 am »
I see. So what would you suggest as a secondary weapon for shotgun? Or should I use shotgun and Psi? Thanks for pointing out the shortcomings with the firearms.