Author Topic: "Tchort" ...Random Opinion/Analysis...  (Read 1242 times)

hayaku

• Probably not a Spambot
    • View Profile
"Tchort" ...Random Opinion/Analysis...
« on: September 30, 2016, 04:33:24 am »
Ok so I this contains no spoilers as I have not yet got inside the institute, only attended the lecture in core city...

But it seems to me that the writer/designer was trying to make a point about academic science and secular educational institutes. Specifically, that if you open your perceptions a little, it really does appear that science = its own religion; and one that worships humanity, biological life and the knowledge that these reveal.

I am a Scientist and have come to this conclusion many times myself (that my own field can be quite cultish, in its own strange way).
I particularly liked the analogy, of having street missionaries and free lectures, but then having to "line up" to get inside and become admitted. That's Science/Academia all right  :D

Anyway.... just my thoughts.   

Bjorn

• Probably not a Spambot
    • View Profile
Re: "Tchort" ...Random Opinion/Analysis...
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2016, 09:59:29 pm »
Hi Hayaku

I think you have a point in the similarities, as they are portrayed for example in regards to Tchort.

Sometimes the way that scientists speak about science, they resemble some religious people quite a bit, when you consider their way of speaking. Scientists may (sometimes) have a better basis for being right about certain things, but when they get "cocky" and insists that they have to automatically be right "because science", their attitude is quite the same. I think this might be a basic human behaviour that pops up once in a while, which has more to do with the persons personality, rather than being religious or scientists. So basically, I think it is just a personality trait more than anything.