Author Topic: Total Beginner looking for a shotgun build  (Read 39740 times)

MaxDucks

• Noob
    • View Profile
Total Beginner looking for a shotgun build
« on: September 10, 2019, 12:23:19 am »
Why yes, I DID come from SsethTzeentach, how did you know?

Anyways, I am indeed a true beginner. Haven't even started the game yet. I do know that I want a shotgun build, but it's really confusing looking through all the forum posts. Most of them seem to be already mapped when the characters are higher level, so I'm looking for a shotgun build that's for a level 1 character.

So, build details. First, shotgun. Love me some shotgun. Second, I'm not super interested in PSI, but I'm not opposed to it. Third, I'm looking for either a tank with a shotgun or TF2's Scout.

In terms of game settings, I'm playing with the DLC on, with classic xp, on easy, but I'm willing to turn it up to normal.

Again, I have no freaking idea what I'm doing, and I'm sorry if this came across as "Oh, and I want THIS, and THIS, and THIS, and THIS!" But yeah. I'm excited to see what you guys have for suggestions, and I'm excited to play the game.

chimaera

• Scavenger
    • View Profile
Re: Total Beginner looking for a shotgun build
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2019, 07:28:48 am »
Shotguns are fun to play, but a) you want some back up weapon because they have short range, and b) you won't start out with one, so at level 1 you will be fighting with a pistol. I'd suggest normal difficulty with oddity experience. A pistol can work as back up (no str requirements, so if a melee character somehow manages to drain your strength making shotguns unusable, you can switch).

I don't like tanks, so this is for a light-armored, stealthy, mobile shotgunner:
strength 5 - this is the lowest you need for shotguns. I'd recommend putting the first two level up points here and ending it at 7 strength on level 8, for the full auto feat.
dexterity 6 - for the grenadier feat,
agility 6 - for the sprint feat,